Being a state employee and a student.

By Emanuel Espinoza

Over the years, I have really learned that I could try balancing school and work, but it isn’t easy. When I first started out as a seasonal employee for the state of California back in 2008, I remember I was at a different place in my life. While I attended college before, I wasn’t that serious about it and felt obligated to be there. I also went through a time when I was bothered by a lot of things. My first season working for the state gave me a break that I needed at the time, but I planned on returning, still with no real clue as to what I wanted to with my life.

It wasn’t until a certain when I finally started feeling a passion that I had within, but during a certain time, I often used the spring as my break from school, only to return in the fall of that year. I remember that there had been a few times when I was reluctant in going back to work for the filing season in the spring because I was more interested in school. Some people would say that I could just take later afternoon courses or evening courses. While that is true, it really depends. Personally, I couldn’t do it because I had to be up at 4 a.m. the next morning. Plus, I would be burnt out after an eight-hour day that I just want to rest and relax.

It wasn’t until last year when I tried to take an online course that I had to actually be on it, and I found out the hard way. I didn’t do so well, so I ended up dropping. I decided to give myself another chance at trying to balance work and school this time. While I haven’t started working yet, because I go back in a few weeks, I am certain that I will be on point with the online courses I am currently taking.

One thing that stood out to me at was that some person who I once knew did not understand my situation in regards to working. The person didn’t know that not everyone can balance work and school. Those who can, I applaud you. I have nothing but respect for those who can because it’s not really for everybody.

Leave a Reply

